a blog about obscure muzik & graphix,random thoughts and free minds.

Sunday 5 January 2020

ORIGAMI REPLIKA-Ka/Skader-Tracks & Traumas From The Replika Tapes 96-91-( Jazzassin Records+Major Ego Produkt-Norway-1996)

Origami Replika was started by Boe in 1992, the first release being an unplayable scratched 7" with a 23-minute cassette, and other tapes soon to follow. In -94 Boe presented the Origami Replika short movie "how to blow up anything in ten easy lessons" with live soundtrack by him with members of Red Harvest and Dunkelheit. In -95 Kjell Braaten and Boe did a gig, including a live remix of Swans' "Soundtracks for the blind" album before it was released. Boe continued to make a shitload of cassettes, including splits with several international activists on the noise scene.

In -96 Lasse Marhaug appeared for the first time and helped Boe master the best of the cassettes onto a cd entitled "Ka/skader". They continued to do a lot of records, cassettes and broken objects. The most known might be the CDs of Merzbow and Kapotte Muziek remixes. The whole thing culminated in two month-long tours in -97 and -98, effectively ending by Marhaug going to see Spice Girls, and Boe went to see Bob Dylan.

Origami Replika was then already taken over and ruined by Per Olav Jørgensen (aka Major Ego) and partly Judge Replika, stealing all their stuff and putting the SchMerzPønkDaDa suffix on everything the REAL replikans did. This issue has never been solved but generated a lot of confusing media attention, resulted in a cd that was published as a 7", an LP, several CDRs and tons of cassettes and compilation entries.

Marhaug quit, Boe, did one last job with Kai Kobi Mikalsen supporting Merzbow in -98 with a folk flute and cassette cover crushing ritual. The last of the old gigs starred Kim Xmazz who chopped headset cables and smashed a ghetto-blaster with an axe in a Madonna remix he did with Boe on national broadcasting. In addition to singing in his own band Nomad Nipples, Mr Xmazz did vocal performances with Lasse Marhaug Band and I quit ! in those days, and has later starred with Boe in various cameos, Boe made a lathe cut 7" and a cd as "The Nordic Miracle" with Marhaug.

The Origami Replika name was bought by John Hegre of Jazzkammer in 2000, thus they are not allowed to perform or publish anywhere in Norway the continent. Most important; they are back as a trio, with their performance "15 minutes of flame", based on ignorant cut-upping of old material, and new wonderful songs.

(When asked about a web page, Kim Xmazz commented: "Origami Replika can not breathe within the confines of the internet".)from their official webpage.
 Jazzassin Records was started in 1996 and ended in 2002. Never intended as a "proper" label, but more as a playground for whatever sounds and in whatever packaging I desired to put out. Some of the releases remain available, although most in low quantities. There will be no repressings once sold out (unless someone wishes to reissue anything).
Major Ego Produkt was a label/production company obviously run by Major Ego A777 (real name Per Oscar Jørgensen) to secure 100% artistic and economic freedom within the framework of Origami Republika/KomKol Autoprod. 
(Info from Discogs) click me


1 14.KR// + 15.JR/// 1:33
2 Peace Love War Exc I 3:37
3 Flicker Fight / Warszawa 5:04
4 Lasse On The Ansaphone Again... 0:34
5 Songofjoy 3:57
6 Peace Love War Exc II 2:07
7 Zanzo Hard 2:07
8 29 Death Marks 3:59
9 Ooops! ; The Master Tape... 0:16
10 Lufthavna Styrt 2:12
11 E/V/O/M 4:47
12 Web / Lw 300 kHz 3:28
13 Force 'Em Open 4:26
14 Øy?!, Kai, Tar Du Opp? 0:15
15 Radio Iggy 2:27
16 Venom 4:27
17 The Origami Man 3:02
18 Soul Under Siege 4:34
19 Defekt-Sex 4:29
20 Warszawa / Katowice/Praha 4:17
21 Båndsus Bonus: 2:05
22Traumatekkno Medley 8:39

Companies, etc.



Selected and edited at the Church Street Studio 7th September 1996, and mastered at Lasse's place 8th September 1996
Comes in a cardboard sleeve with a CD sized, double sided promo sheet. On the back cover it is written "This plastic item has been produced to promote the original tapes"
Total time 72:30
Also released as a trashed edition limited to 28 copies as Dunkelprod Spaze XIII.

c) Origami Replika.
p) Jazzassin Records.

I.L.W.D.S. 1.867.

N©B 1996.

Non-profit tape reproduction encouraged. 

1 comment: